Category Archives: Featured Books by Sub-Genres

Blood for the Dancer (The Horde and the Host Book 1) by Dallas Mullican

fantasy souls - dallas mullican -blood for the dancer

“A perfect blending of an original mythos and traditional fantasy. Fans of Dragonlance, Forgotten Realms, and The Shannara Chronicles will love this series.” Darkcast Reviews

Join an adventure through Heaven and Hell in the first thrilling volume of Dallas Mullican’s fantasy epic- The Horde and the Host Trilogy.

BLOOD FOR THE DANCER Continue reading Blood for the Dancer (The Horde and the Host Book 1) by Dallas Mullican

Advertisements

JACKSON BAER – Author of “AN AMERICAN FAMILY” and “LIFE AFTER DEATH”

Evolved Publishing presents the first book in the “An American Family” series, contemporary suspense thrillers that explore one family’s trials and tragedies.

BOOK ONE: AN AMERICAN FAMILY

fantasy souls-AnAmericanFamily_3D_transparent

Isaac Childs has the perfect life—until that life comes crashing down when his wife Ramie vanishes.

Isaac learns that his wife’s disappearance is the ninth in a string of similar cases. In the wake of this news, he struggles to cope, to be a good father to his daughter and college-bound son, and to reclaim something of an ordinary life even as he conceals his troubled past.

After the FBI makes an arrest, and his wife is presumed dead, Isaac begins to move on. Yet will his secrets catch up with him? Has he conquered his vices for good? And what of the FBI’s theory that the case isn’t completely resolved, after all?

READERS SPEAK

Gregg Olsen, New York Times Bestselling Author, says, “Baer writes with guts and sensitivity — the kind of suspense that turns a reader into a fan. I can’t wait for his next thrilling read.”

Continue reading JACKSON BAER – Author of “AN AMERICAN FAMILY” and “LIFE AFTER DEATH”

“By the Hand of Dragons: Rook” by Alexzander Christion

Sheath has just learned that he is not a boy, but a Chimera, a weapon created by powerful dragon magic to be the perfect warrior and win a war almost one believes is coming. One of an army of 300 child soldiers, he must master every art of war and become powerful enough to defeat a threat that frightens even the Council of Dragons. Continue reading “By the Hand of Dragons: Rook” by Alexzander Christion

Book Excerpt – The Skyhorse by HL Carpenter

The SkyHorse 400 by 600

Sweat rolls from under my hair and slides down my neck. I raise my arm to brush the dribble away. My deodorant has failed. At least nobody’s around to know.

I swipe my fingers across my denim shorts and head for home—for Gramma’s house. Honeysuckle Hollow is not my home. And never will be. Midway along the park’s paved road, I turn right, onto a five-acre field that was once Gramma’s watermelon patch.

Even if the land had still belonged to Gramma, the drought of the past six months would have killed off any chance of a watermelon crop. The brown withered grass crunches under my feet. All the oak trees in the field are drooping. Their stiff leaves curl like tight leafy fists of desperation. Except for a two-second downpour Monday afternoon, no rain has fallen. Every step I take raises dust. The wisps levitate like ghostly tentacles and curl around my bare legs as if pleading for my help. Honeysuckle Hollow Park is so dry the dust is begging for water. Continue reading Book Excerpt – The Skyhorse by HL Carpenter

“Verdure” by Gregg Zimmerman

the bold mom_verdure by gregg zimmerman

Synopsis

Out there in Windridge Ravine – his ravine – an evil influence is at work. A cosmic wound that Edward feels pulsing through the night, growing ever stronger, more menacing . . .
. . .
Returning from college for his father’s funeral, Edward Marshwillow faces challenges and adversities from many directions. Julie, the love of his life, has left him for his best friend Tim. Edward’s girlfriend from college, Adrienne, will visit him soon. Her presence will only drive home Julie’s permanent estrangement from him. Meanwhile Gala, Edward’s beautiful and vulnerable teenage sister, has been caught up in a web of occult events that are besieging the town of Windridge . . . Continue reading “Verdure” by Gregg Zimmerman

“By the Hand of Dragons: AlinGuard” by Alexzander Christion

511y5-gggxl

“Prisons are for men, AlinGuard is for monsters.”

To be sentenced here, they must pose a threat no single nation could handle. And now they’re on the loose.

AlinGuard, a frozen prison at the top of the world. By some horror, the convicts now control the prison, and have converted it into their base of operation as they wreak havoc across the Whitelands.
Continue reading “By the Hand of Dragons: AlinGuard” by Alexzander Christion

“Desert Shadows” by Joshua Dowidat

dowidat-full-cover

For Caleb and Liam, a pair of close-knit brothers who have trouble fitting in at school, the Southwest desert around their home offers a place where their imaginations can run wild.

But as their explorations take them farther from home, a sinister darkness begins to invade their happy adventures — a darkness that is far more real than what their imaginations can conjure up. And when they collect souvenirs from an abandoned house that turn out to be powerful talismans connected to a mysterious shadow land, strange events and people begin intruding into their lives. Along the way, the brothers acquire some new friends — including two ghosts and a reclusive neighbor — who give them valuable insights into the darkness they are fighting. Continue reading “Desert Shadows” by Joshua Dowidat

“The Place of Stars and Bones” by G. Owen Wears

stars n bones - final cover 2.0

A man alone, his memory a blank, moves north across a stark and desolate plane. Though unable to recall why, he is compelled to go on, trudging steadily beneath and endless star-filled sky. Before him
sprawls a nightmare landscape filled with animate corpses, massive carnal heaps, dead cities, and the last remnants of a race bent on its own self-destruction. To discover his unknown destination the lone traveler will have to face them all. Continue reading “The Place of Stars and Bones” by G. Owen Wears

QUICK READ – “Escape: An Immortal Heritage short story” by Selene Kallan

Escape: An Immortal Heritage short story.

All rights reserved to the author. No part of this publication may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including photocopying, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods, without the prior written permission of the author.

fantasy souls-selene kallan-short story

 

Pain; it was the only reminder I was still alive —even if my soul disagreed. A loud ringing in my ears remained after the electroshock therapy, accompanied by the soreness throughout my body. Why the hell would they call frying someone’s brain a type of therapy? I wondered. If anything, I felt far less sane than before.

A sharp electric pain lanced down my spine. I arched on the stiff bed, hissing through my clenched teeth to avoid screaming; not that I actually believed I had the strength to. The drugs and appalling procedures had left me drained of energy, unable to sit for too long. The assault subsided, leaving my body coated with a faint sheen of sweat; an unusual occurrence in me. Continue reading QUICK READ – “Escape: An Immortal Heritage short story” by Selene Kallan

“The Coven Princess” by Lily Luchesi

51z39vi03kl

Your blood does not define you.
Harley Torrance’s parents were killed in a home invasion when she was three. Adopted by a nice couple, Harley begins to develop strange powers. At fourteen she brews a potion so strong it gains the attention of the Coven King, and changes her world forever.
She’s not human, she’s a witch. Continue reading “The Coven Princess” by Lily Luchesi